A Glance at the Women’s Cricket World Cup

History Of The Women World Cup:

Although, the name of the Women’s World Cup is not eminent in comparison to the Men`s World Cup it was detained earlier in 1973. As women`s game was always considered an unskillful hobby, the event was arranged to escalate the interest in women’s cricket and get a good respectful audience.

The tournament was a pet project of Sir Jack Hayward, who donates enormously for his hobby. Round Robin format was followed for 7 teams. On 14th June 1973, women teams were all set in their colourful uniforms and the trophy was ready to display, first-ever World Cup was tossed. The squad of teachers, a secretary, and housewives from England were the first champions of the Women`s World Cup back in 1973.

Women's World Cup History
England Women were the first World Cup winners

Lack of appropriate preparations was observed in 1973, most of the matches were played on vague pitches; county matches back then had more focus on proper arrangements. The majority of the funds collected for the event were used for publicizing proper training for the players and arrangements at the ground were found mislaid. But then again event turned out to be successful enormously and the final was played at Lords.

Since 1973, the event of the Women‘s World Cup apprehended 11 times. 10 teams around the globe have participated There is nothing unfamiliar in the Women`s World Cup, a similar pattern is followed as of men`s world cup. Only three teams mark the victory in the tournament and no Asian team is rewarded yet. Australia is the world champ 5 times and has proven itself as a topmost team in the world.

Which country hosted the prior events of the Women`s World Cup and who was the winner. Let’s have a look: 

Playing YearOrigin of the tournamentWinner of the tournament
1982New ZealandAustralia
2000New ZealandNew Zealand
2005South AfricaAustralia

Scroll down to have a look to the Key Players of the Women`s World Cup since 1973:

Playing YearTop Run ScorerTotal RunsName Of The TeamTop Wicket TakerTotal WicketsName Of The Team
1973Enid  Bakewell264 EnglandRosalind Heggs12England
1978Margaret Jennings127AustraliaSharyn Hill7Australia
1982Janette Brittin391EnglandLyn Fullston23Australia
1988Lindsay Reeler448AustraliaLyn Fullston16Australia
1993Janette Britin410EnglandKaren Smithies15England
1997Debbie Hockley456New ZealandKatrina Keenan13New Zealand
2000Karen Rolton393AustraliaCharmaine Mason17Australia
2005Charlotte Edwards280EnglandNeetu David20India
2009Sarah Taylor324EnglandLaura Marsh16England
2013Suzie Bates407New ZealandMegan Schutt15Australia
2017Tammy Beaumont410EnglandDane van Niekerk15South Africa

Women’s World Cup 2022:

The tournament of Women’s World Cup 2022 was planned earlier but was deferred until March 2022 due to covid restrictions.  With New Zealand as host, the event will commence on March 4, 2022. Australia was the best performer in previous events and England, India, and South Africa were selected already because of their positions in the 2017 and 2020 ICC Women’s Championship.

Three teams including Pakistan are set eligible based on their One-day International rankings from ICC. Along with Pakistan, Bangladesh and West Indies are also qualified on the same criteria. A total of eight teams will play their group stage matches and the top four teams will qualify for the semifinal. The tournament will follow league format, no groups are formed, all the teams will play with each other.   

31 knockouts will take place in 31 days. Six cities from New Zealand will have the honor to host the event. Two substantial competitions between England, Australia, and India, Pakistan will be held in some initial games. The final match of the tournament will be played on 3rd April at Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

Find the full schedule of the fixtures of Women’s World Cup 2022 here:

Women’s World Cup 2022 Schedule Announced

History of Team Pakistan in Women’s World Cup

Pakistan Women Team

Team Pakistan played in four versions of WWC, but the Pakistani female cricket squad is not as proficient in comparison to other teams. Weaknesses and lack of training were observed in their game. The 1997 world cup was the first time they participated in the event but returned home winless. Their game was far better in 2009 and 2013. Defeating Sri Lanka by 57 runs and West Indies by four wickets in 2009 made their confidence level high. Sadia Yousuf, a key player and left-arm spinner from the Pakistani squad was the highest wicket-taker from the team in WWC 1997.

Pakistani Squad in World Cup 2022

Pakistani Team after qualifying from ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is all set to play for the upcoming world cup in New Zealand. Bismah Maroof, an experienced all-rounder and proficient captain has joined the team after two years of maternal leaves. She will lead the team in the tournament.

Although team Pakistan has not been up to expectations in events beforehand Pakistani game is unpredictable as we have super-skilled players like  Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Jaweria Khan, and Captain Bismah Maroof who have the talent to change the game. 

Bismah is satisfied with the pieces of training and has confidence in her team; she believes team Pakistan will qualify for the semifinals this year. Pakistan will play their first match against India on 4th March 2022. Practice Sessions are started in Karachi and opener Nahida Khan and leg spinner Ghulam Fatima are added to the team for their inspiring game. 

Expecting high from the Pakistani squad in Women’s World Cup 2022 won’t be a bad idea as the Pakistan team has brilliant and skillful players in team this year. The team announced by PCB is as follows:

  1. Bismah Maroof – Captain
  2. Nida Dar– Vice-Captain
  3. Aiman Anwar- Right Arm Medium Fast Bowler
  4. Aliya Riaz– Right Arm Off Break Bowler
  5. Anam Amin-Slow Left Arm Orthodox Bowler
  6. Diana Baig– Right Arm Medium Fast Bowler
  7. Fatima Sana– Right Arm Medium Fast Bowler
  8. Ghulam Fatima– Right Arm Leg Break Bowler
  9. Javeria Khan– Right-Handed Batter
  10. Muneeba Ali- Left-Handed Batter
  11. Nahida Khan– Right-Handed Batter
  12. Nashra Sandhu– Slow Left Arm Orthodox Bowler
  13. Omaima Sohail– Right-Handed Batter
  14. Sidra Amin– Right-Handed Batter
  15. Sidra Nawaz– Right-Handed Batter

Also see:

Leave a comment