Quaid E Azam Trophy 2022-23: Test to be the Best is Back

The end of the enthralling National T20 cup brings in the Quaid E Azam Trophy. The most prestigious event of Pakistan cricket. QeA trophy is not only anticipated by the viewers but is also targeted by many players to fast-track themselves to the international arena and wear the green star on their chests. Last year’s event was no less drama and a similar is expected this year too.

Scheduling of the premium event of the year

The surprising thing to mention is that Karachi is not on the list to host a single match this year which remains an unanswered question other than that everything seems exciting and interesting more than ever. This time the grounds which are being used in the QeA trophy are spread from the south to the north of Pakistan i.e. Pindi Cricket Stadium, Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Multan Cricket Stadium, Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad, and Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

The event will feature six regional teams i.e. Sindh, Central Punjab, Southern Punjab, KPK, Northern and Balochistan which shall be captained by Sarfaraz Ahmed, Azhar Ali, Hassan Ali, Khalid Usman, Umar Amin and Yasir Shah respectively.

The defending champions KPK are all set to sweat it out to defend the glory as they start their campaign against Balochistan. The event final is scheduled from 26-30 November with the venue to be confirmed

To access the complete schedule click here.

Money Bucket for this year’s Quaid E Azam Trophy

Pakistan Cricket Board recently announced an increase in the monthly retainers and it seems no different here as the board is ready to loosen up their wallet a bit as the total money allotted for the event finale is 17 million PKR which is 10 million rupees and a glittering silverware will be pocketed by the winner and 5 million will be given to the runner up of the tournament. The best batsman, best bowler, the best wicketkeeper, and best player of the tournament will get 500,000 PKR each. The man in the final will get 50,000 PKR.

Also read: Top 15 moments to cherish in Pakistan T20 history

Points System for QeA Trophy 2022-23

If a team comes out the winner will get 16 points plus all the bonus points, 5 points plus all the bonus points earned if the match is drawn, and 8 points plus all the bonus points if the match is tied. If the game is abandoned both teams will have 5 points each. 2 bonus points if the match is won after a follow-on, 1 point each if the match is won by an inning and if the match is drawn post to a follow-on situation.

Broadcasting and Production details

As per the PCB media, the first 8 round matches of the Quaid E Azam Trophy shall be produced using high-definition equipment and can be viewed live on the official Youtube channel of PCB. The final will be televised on PTV Sports while the rest of the details are yet to be provided by the officials.

Squads for this year’s Quaid E Azam Trophy

Balochistan – Yasir Shah (c), Azeem Ghumman, Haris Sohail, Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Akif Javed, Ali Waqas, Ammad Butt, Asad Shafiq, Ayyaz Tassawar, Haseebullah, Hussain Talat, Imran Butt, Kashif Bhatti, Khurram Shehzad and Taj Wali.

Central Punjab – Azhar Ali (c), Aamir Yameen, Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Ahmed Daniyal, Ahmed Shahzad, Ali Shan, Hunain Shah, Muhammad Ali, Muhammad Saad, Qasim Akram, Tayyab Tahir, Umaid Asif, Usama Mir and Waqas Maqsood.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa – Khalid Usman (c), Ashfaq Ahmed, Adil Amin, Arshad Iqbal, Arshad Ullah, Ihsanullah, Imran Khan Snr, Irfanullah Shah, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Sarwar Afridi, Nabi Gul, Rehan Afridi, Sahibzada Farhan, Sajid Khan and Waqar Ahmed.

Northern – Umar Amin (c), Abdul Faseh, Ather Mehmood, Faizan Riaz, Kashif Ali, Mehran Mumtaz, Mubasir Khan, Muhammad Huraira, Musa Khan, Nauman Ali, Rohail Nazir, Sarmad Bhatti, Umer Waheed, Waqas Ahmed and Zeeshan Malik.

Sindh – Saud Shakeel (c), Abrar Ahmed, Asif Mehmood, Fawad Alam, Ghulam Mudassar, Khurram Manzoor, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Aasghar, Muhammad Umar, Omair Bin Yousuf, Saad Khan, Saim Ayub, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Syed Faraz Ali and Zahid Mahmood.

Southern Punjab – Hasan Ali (c), Ahmed Bashir, Ali Usman, Hassan Khan, Imran Rafiq, Maqbool Ahmad, Muhammad Ilyas, Muhammad Imran Randhawa, Salman Ali Agha, Sameen Gull, Sharoon Siraj, Umer Siddique, Usman Salahuddin, Yousaf Baber and Zain Abbas.

Also read:

Leave a comment