ICC Awards 2022 – Babar Azam announced Cricketer of the Year

The ICC Awards are an annual award ceremony introduced in 2004 by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The awards acknowledge and praise the best international players in cricket. Let’s take a look at all the winners of the ICC Awards 2022.

There are various categories of the ICC Awards. For both Men and Women, there are awards for best cricketer per format and the most prestigious award called “Cricketer of the Year” which recognises a player’s performances across all formats. 

Pakistan had a year to remember in 2021 when four of their cricketers across both formats won awards. For a review of 2021, read our last year’s article:

ICC Awards 2021 – Pakistani Players leading from the Front

Let’s dig in and look at all the winners of the 2022 year.

ICC Awards 2022 – All winners 

Here is the list of all winners of the ICC Awards, including umpires and women’s teams. 

Men’s Award winners for 2022

Sir Garfield Sobers’ award for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the YearBabar Azam (Pakistan)
ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the YearBen Stokes (England)
ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the YearBabar Azam (Pakistan)
ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the YearSuryakumar Yadav (India)
ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the YearMarco Jansen (South Africa)
ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the YearGerhard Erasmus (Namibia)

Women’s Award winners for 2022

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the YearNat Sciver (England)
ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the YearNat Sciver (England)
ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the YearThalia McGrath (Australia)
ICC Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the YearRenuka Singh (India)
ICC Women’s Associate Cricketer of the YearEsha Oza (UAE)

Umpire award winner for 2022

Dave Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the YearRichard Illingworth (England)

ICC Awards 2022 – Babar’s dominance

Sir Garfield Sobers’ award for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year – Babar Azam

There was no stopping the captain of the Pakistan Cricket Team, Babar Azam. He had a memorable year to remember. Across all formats, he scored 2598 runs at an average of 54. This includes eight centuries and 17 fifties.

He was easily the highest run-getter of 2022 in international cricket with the second-best batter 677 runs behind. 

Babar was the highest run-getter in Test cricket with almost 1200 runs at an average of nearly 70. In One Day format, he was phenomenal. He averaged in the 80s with eight 50+ scores to his name while playing only nine games.

While his longer formats excelled, his shortest format was not entirely up to mark. He was the fourth-highest run-getter in T20Is but he averaged 31 with a low strike rate of 123.

Captaincy run

In terms of captaincy, the red ball was a forgettable one where they only won just one game. But in white-ball formats, he was brilliant. In ODIs, the number one ODI player led the team to win eight out of nine matches. In terms of series, they failed to lose a single one. This includes Pakistan’s first ODI series win over Australia in 20 years.

In T20Is, Babar led the national team to the finals of the Asia Cup, the Tri-series and the T20 World Cup. He ended as second best in the Asia Cup and T20 World Cup but won the Tri-series in New Zealand.

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Babar Azam 

Nine innings. 679 runs. 84 average. Three centuries.

These were the numbers of Babar Azam in One Day Internationals in 2022. He was simply outstanding. While in his tremendous run, he became the first and only batter in the world to score three consecutive ODI hundreds on two different occasions.

His captaincy was brilliant. Pakistan played three series – all part of the Cricket World Cup Super League – and won all of them. They defeated Australia (2-1), WI (3-0) at home and Netherlands (3-0) away. Pakistan reached the no.3 rank in the ODI rankings for the first time after 15 years during this period.

Pakistan Players winners list in the ICC Awards

2007Test Cricketer of the YearMohammad Yousuf 
2009Umpire of the YearAleem Dar
2010Umpire of the YearAleem Dar
2011Umpire of the YearAleem Dar
2013T20I Performance of the Year (award discontinued)Umar Gul (5-6 vs South Africa)
2016Spirit of CricketMisbah ul-Haq
2017Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the yearHassan Ali
2021Cricketer of the YearShaheen Afridi 
2021ODI Cricketer of the YearBabar Azam 
2021T20I Cricketer of the YearMohammad Rizwan 
2021Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the yearFatima Sana 
2022Cricketer of the YearBabar Azam

ICC Awards 2022 – Teams of the Year 

Men’s Teams of the year 

Test XI of 2022ODI XI of 2022T20I XI of 2022
Usman Khawaja (AUS)Travis Head (AUS)Jos Buttler (ENG, Capt/WK)
Kragg Brathwaite (WI)Shai Hope (WI)Mohammad Rizwan (PAK)
Marnus Labuschagne (AUS)Babar Azam (PAK, Capt)Virat Kohli (IND)
Babar Azam (PAK)Shreyas Iyer (IND)Suryakumar Yadav (IND)
Jonny BairstowTom Latham (NZ, WK)Glenn Phillips (NZ)
Ben Stokes (ENG, Capt)Sikandar Raza (ZIM)Sikandar Raza (ZIM)
Rishabh Pant (IND, WK)Mehedy Hassan (BAN)Hardik Pandya (IND)
Pat Cummins (AUS)Alzarri Joseph (WI)Wanindu Hasaranga (SL) 
Nathan Lyon (AUS)M Siraj (IND)Sam Curran (ENG)
Kagiso Rabada (SA)Trent Boult (NZ)Haris Rauf (PAK)
James Anderson (ENG)Adam Zampa (AUS)Josh Little (IRE)

Women’s Teams of the year 

ODI XI of 2022T20I XI of 2022
Smriti Mandhana (IND)Smriti Mandhana (IND)
Alyssa Healy (AUS, WK)Beth Mooney (AUS)
Laura Wolvaardt (ENG)Sophie Devine (NZ, Capt)
Nat Sciver (ENG)Ash Gardner (AUS)
Beth Mooney (AUS)Tahlia McGrath (AUS)
Harmanpreet Kaur (IND, Capt)Nida Dar (PAK)
Amelia Kerr (NZ)Deepti Sharma (IND)
Sophie Ecclestone (ENG)Richa Gosh (IND, WK)
Ayabonga Khaka (SA)Sophie Ecclestone (ENG)
Shabnim Ismail (SA)Inoka Ranaweera (SL)
Renuka Singh (IND)Renuka Singh (IND)

Also Read: 

Leave a comment