Big change in Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a change in the squad for the T20 World Cup 2022, according to which Fakhar Zaman and Usman Qadir will swap their places. According to the latest update, Usman Qadir has moved to the travelling reserves, while the left-handed batter is included in the 15-player squad. 

The PCB understands the changes were mandatory in Pakistan squad since the leg-spinner is yet recovering from a fracture on his right thumb. Qadir suffered the injury during the fourth match of the home T20I series against England. It has further been defined that he will not be available for selection before October 22nd, which means, he is unlikely to participate in any of the warm-up games.

Zaman, who is in London for the rehabilitation process, will join the rest of the Pakistan squad in Brisbane on October 15th alongside Shaheen Shah Afridi. Both will be able to participate in the two warm-up games against England and Afghanistan sequentially. During the encounters, the management will evaluate the fitness level of both.

Read: Everything you need to know about PCB’s Women’s T20 League

Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2022:

The 15-player Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2022 is as follows:

 Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shan Masood.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.

Schedule of Pakistan’s matches at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia 2022:

23 October – vs India, Melbourne

27 October – vs winner Group B, Perth

30 October – vs runner-up Group A, Perth

3 November – vs South Africa, Sydney

6 November – vs Bangladesh, Adelaide

It must be noted that Pakistan will kick-start their Super 12 journey of the marquee event on October 24th against the arch-rivals India.

Also, see:

Leave a comment