Asia Cup 2022: Complete Schedule, Dates and Timings

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the schedule for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022. The tournament will run from August 28 till September 11. 

The tournament opener will see five-time Champions Sri Lanka take on Afghanistan before the following day sees a mega clash between India and Pakistan. Seven-time Champions India are the defending champions, having won the tournament in 2018 and in 2016.

We will take a look at the groupings and the schedule. We will also see the format style of the competition. 

Asia Cup 2022: What format will it be played in?

The 15th edition of the Asia Cup will be played in the Twenty20 International format. This will be the second time the competition will be played in the T20I format, following the first in 2016 where India won. 

The tournament format will be similar to what was played in the 2018 edition. 

Also Read: Venue of Asia Cup 2022 Finally Revealed

Asia Cup 2022: Groupings

Six teams will play in the Asian championship. The five teams have already qualified for the main round while the six-team will be decided via the Qualifier, which will run from August 20 in Oman. The UAE, Kuwait, Singapore and Hong Kong are the four teams that will compete. The winner will be placed in Group A, which comprises India and Pakistan. Group B comprises Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Group AGroup B
India Afghanistan
Qualifiying TeamSri Lanka

The top two teams from each group will then progress to “Super 4s,” where the top two teams from there will play the final. 

Asia Cup 2022: Complete Scedule 

The tournament will be played in Dubai and Sharjah. Dubai will host ten matches, including the final while Sharjah will host just three. 

All matches will be played at 6 pm local time (7 pm PAK time). Below is the complete schedule. 

1August 27Sri Lanka vs AfghanistanR1 – BDubai
2August 28India vs PakistanR1- ADubai
3August 30Bangladesh vs AfghanistanR1- BSharjah
4August 31India vs QualifierR1- ADubai
5September 1Sri Lanka vs BangladeshR1- BDubai
6September 2Pakistan vs QualifierR1- ASharjah
7September 3B1 vs B2S4Sharjah
8September 4A1 vs A2S4Dubai
9September 6A1 vs B1S4Dubai
10September 7A2 vs B2S4Dubai
11September 8A1 vs B2S4Dubai
12September 9A2 vs B1S4Dubai
13September 11FinalDubai

Read More:

Leave a comment