T20 World Cup 2022: Groupings, Schedule, Dates, and Timings

The ICC has announced the groupings, fixtures, and dates of the 2022 T20 World Cup. Just like the previous edition, the 16 teams will play in the tournament in Australia from October 16 to November 13, 2022.

Originally, the tournament was supposed to take place in 2020. However, with the covid-19 pandemic shortly taken over the world after the conclusion of women’s first T20 World Cup standalone, the Men’s were postponed. 

There were meetings on Australia hosting the 2021 edition and asked India to host the 2022 edition. However, the ICC decided that India will host the 2021 edition – which eventually ended up in UAE – and Australia will host the eighth edition in 2022

Team Australia are the defending champions, having beaten New Zealand in the previous tournament. The opener of the main round of the tournament will be played by the finalists on October 22.

T20 World Cup 2022: Groupings 

Round 1

Again, like the previous edition, the tournament will be divided into two stages; Round 1 or “Qualifiers” and Super 12s. 

Namibia, Sri Lanka, and the two qualifiers are placed in Group A of first-round Scotland, West Indies, and the other two qualifiers are placed in Group B. 

T20 WC Qualifiers

There will be two global qualifiers to be played for this tournament. The first tournament, Global Qualifiers A, will be held in Oman from 17 to 24 February 2022. 

The second competition, Global Qualifiers B, will take place in Zimbabwe. It will take place from 8 to 18 July later this year.

The finalists from both Qualifiers will qualify for the main event and will join Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and West Indies in the first round. 

Update (July 18, 2022): Ireland, Netherlands, UAE and Zimbabwe qualified for the T20 World Cup 2022.

Super 12s

In the Super 12s stage, defending champions Australia are placed in Group 1. Along with the hosts are New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, and the two teams from the first round. 

Group 2 consists of India and Pakistan once again and they are joined by Bangladesh, South Africa, and the two teams from the first round. 

The top two teams from each group will go through the Knockout stage.

Group AGroup B
Sri LankaWest Indies 
Group 1Group 2
New ZealandSouth Africa
Winner Group AWinner Group B
Runner-up Group BRunner-up Group A

T20 World Cup 2022: Pakistan’s schedule 

Pakistan, who ended as semi-finalists in the 2021 T20 World Cup, has been placed in group 2. They are joined by rivals India, South Africa, and Bangladesh along with Group B winner and Group A runner. 

Pakistan had a memorable 2021 tournament. They defeated their arch-rivals India in the World Cup match for the very first time and swept their group. Unfortunately for the Men in Green, they met inspiring Australians and got defeated in the Semi-Final. Can Babar Azam and his men go one step further and win the title?

Also read: Pakistan and their 2021 T20 World Cup journey

T20 World Cup 2022 Full Schedule 

Seven cities were announced for the 2022 edition. 45 matches will be played across Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney. The tournament final will be played at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) while the Semi-Finals will be played in Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Adelaide Oval respectively. 

Here’s the full schedule. 

Qualifying Round

Date Group MatchTimings (PKT)Venue
Oct 16ASri Lanka vs Namibia9:00 amGeelong
Netherlands vs UAE1:00 pm Geelong
Oct 17BWest Indies vs Scotland9:00 amHobart
Ireland vs Zimbabwe1:00 pm Hobart
Oct 18ANamibia vs Netherlands9:00 amGeelong
Sri Lanka vs UAE1:00 pm Geelong
Oct 19BScotland vs Ireland9:00 amHobart
West Indies vs Zimbabwe1:00 pm Hobart
Oct 20ASri Lanka vs Netherlands9:00 amGeelong
Namibia vs UAE1:00 pm Geelong
Oct 21BWest Indies vs Ireland9:00 amHobart
Scotland vs Zimbabwe1:00 pm Hobart
Date Group MatchTimings (PKT)Ground 
Oct 221Australia vs New Zealand 12:00 pmSydney
1England vs Afghanistan 4:00 pmPerth
Oct 231A1 vs B2 9:00 amHobart
2India vs Pakistan 1:00 pm Melbourne
Oct 242Bangladesh vs A29:00 amHobart
2South Africa vs B1 1:00 pmHobart
Oct 251Australia vs A11:00 pmPerth
Oct 261England vs B29:00 amMelbourne
1New Zealand vs Afghanistan1:00 pmMelbourne
Oct 272South Africa vs Bangladesh 8:00 amcompetition
2India vs A212:00 pmSydney
2Pakistan vs B14:00 pmPerth
Oct 281Afghanistan vs B29:00 amMelbourne
1England vs Australia 1:00 pmMelbourne
Oct 291New Zealand vs A11:00 pmSydney
Oct 302Bangladesh vs B1 8:00 amBrisbane
2Pakistan vs A212:00 pmPerth
2India vs South Africa4:00 pmPerth
Oct 311Australia vs B2 1:00 pmBrisbane
Nov 11Afghanistan vs A19:00 amBrisbane
1England vs New Zealand1:00 pmBrisbane
Nov 22B1 vs A29:00 amAdelaide
2India vs Bangladesh1:00 pmAdelaide
Nov 32Pakistan vs South Africa1:00 pmSydney
Nov 41New Zealand vs B2 9:00 amAdelaide
1Australia vs Afghanistan1:00 pmAdelaide
Nov 51England vs A1 1:00 pmSydney
Nov 62South Africa vs A25:00 pmAdelaide
2Pakistan vs Bangladesh9:00 amAdelaide
2India vs B11:00 pmMelbourne

Knock-out stage

Date Stage MatchTimings (PKT)Ground 
Nov 9Semi-Final 1TBC vs TBC1:00 pmSydney
Nov 10Semi-Final 2TBC vs TBC1:00 pmAdelaide
Nov 13The Final TBC vs TBC 1:00 pmMelbourne

Also read: Where does Virat Kohli rank amongst Captains?

Leave a comment