Pakistan Women aiming for another Clean Sweep against Irish Women

Pakistan women are prepared to take on Irish women in the T20 internationals after their record-breaking ODI performances, and they are hoping to clean sweep this series as well.

Ireland women are visiting the country for the first time in history. A few days back, the teams competed in an ODI series at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, where PAK women clinched the series 3-0.

After winning the three-match ODI series 3-0, Pakistan is looking forward to the three-match Twenty20 International series, which will commence tomorrow.

Pakistan Women & Ireland Women Head to Head

There have been 15 T20Is between the two teams so far, with PAK winning 13  while the Irish women overcame the former in two games. The most recent match between these two teams took place in the tri-nation competition in Ireland in July of this year, with Australia playing as the third team. The tri-series featured two matches between Pakistan and Ireland, with PAK winning the first one by 13 runs on DLS and the second match being called off due to rain. The game on Saturday, 11th November, will be the two teams’ first meeting.

ICC Women’s T20I Rankings place Pakistan sixth, four places ahead of Ireland.

Also Read: All the Miracles and Upsets in T20 World Cup 2022

Captain’s remarks

National Captain Bismah Maroof: 

“We are looking forward to an exciting series against Ireland. As the T20 World Cup approaches, we will be able to solidify our squad as a result of the series”

“Sidra Amin batted exceptionally well, she worked hard on her fitness, and it showed in her performance. I hope she continues to perform well and helps the team win in the future.”

“As we have this series to try out our combination for the World Cup, we have included Javeria Khan, who I hope will perform well and contribute to the team’s success.”

Ireland Captain Laura Delany: 

“We are looking forward to a fresh start and very much looking forward to tomorrow’s game. The series provides a brilliant opportunity for us to play more T20Is.

“We have worked on a few things in the last game which we played here. We have not capitalized much on wicket-taking opportunities and will try to rectify that ahead of the series. We are focused on trying to execute our plans well on the field.

“The players besides cricket are having a great time over here, the arrangements made for the team here are great and we are thankful to the PCB.”

Squad & Schedule for the T20I series

Pakistan squad: Bismah Maroof (c), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Javeria Khan, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Nashra Sandhu, Sadaf Shamas, Sidra Amin, and Umm-e-Hani

Reserve player: Sidra Nawaz

Ireland squad: Laura Delany (c), Amy Hunter, Arlene Kelly, Cara Murray, Celeste Raack, Eimear Richardson, Gaby Lewis, Jane Maguire, Leah Paul, Louise Little, Mary Waldron, Orla Prendergast, Rebecca Stokell, Shauna Kavanagh and Sophie MacMahon

The three Match T20i series will start tomorrow at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore – GSL.

All Matches will be played at 10 AM local time

  • 12 November – 1st Match
  • 14 November – 2nd Match
  • 16 November – 3rd Match

Read More: 

Leave a comment