IhsanUllah vs Abbas Afridi – Battle for the Fazal Mahmood Cap

The first Pakistani fast bowler to take 100 wickets in a Test, Fazal Mahmood, is a legend of the game. He played 34 Test matches and took 139 wickets. For his services, PCB named the Gaddafi Stadium enclosure after him. In 2017, PCB introduced the maroon cap, also called the Fazal Mahmood cap, which is awarded to the top wicket-taker of PSL in a season.

Fazal Mahmood Cap previous winners:

Sohail Khan was the first and only Karachi Kings player to win the Fazal Mahmood Cap in 2017, while Shaheen Afridi won the cap twice, first in 2020 by taking 17 wickets and then in 2022, along with the title for his franchise Lahore Qalandars.

Sohail KhanKK201716
Faheem AshrafIU201818
Hasan AliPZ201925
Shaheen AfridiLQ202017
Shahnawaz Dhani MS202120
Shaheen AfridiLQ202220

The Fazal Mahmood Cap has not been won by any player from Quetta Gladiators in seven editions, and it has never been won by an overseas player either. Additionally, no one has won the cap in back-to-back seasons.

Fazal Mahmood Cap Battle – Ihsanullah vs Abbas Afridi:

This season, Ihsanullah and Abbass Afridi are in a close battle to win the Fazal Mahmood Cap. Abbas Afridi has taken 23 wickets in ten matches, with an economy rate of 9.45, while Ihsanullah has 21 wickets with an economy rate of 7.26.

Read about: Pakistan’s Young Guns Take on Afghanistan: Emerging Squad Announced as Seniors Take a Break

Abbas Afridi – A Gritty Fast Bowler:

Initially being part of Karachi Kings and later after being released, Abbas Afridi was picked by Multan in the 2022 draft but didn’t get a chance to play. However, this year, due to Shahnawaz Dhani’s injury, he got a chance in the playing 11 and has been performing exceptionally well and fighting to win Fazal Mahmood Cap. Currently, he is the top wicket-taker of PSL with an economy rate of 9.45, though he is also the most expensive bowler in terms of economy among the top five wicket-takers.

Best Figures

Abbas took the first hat-trick of this season and the fifth in the history of PSL. He took two wickets on the last two balls of the 17th over, and in his next over, he took a wicket on the first ball and completed his hat-trick.

Ihsanullah – An Emerging Pacer:

Ihsanullah, the newest pace sensation, is fighting to win the Fazal Mahmood Cap, he has also taken 20 wickets in 10 matches. Despite being just 20 years old, he is making headlines and was recently selected for the t20 series against Afghanistan in Sharjah.

Best Figures;

Battle for Fazal Mahmood Cap Amidst Tough Competition from Lahore Qalandars’ Stars?

Abbas Afridi and Ihsanullah are closely competing for the Fazal Mahmood Cap with only a two-wicket difference between them, Lahore Qalandars’ top bowlers, including Captain Shaheen, PDP find Haris Rauf, and Rashid Khan, are providing tough competition. Currently, Haris Rauf has six wickets less whereas Rashid Khan has seven wickets difference from Abbas Afridi.

10Abbas Afridi239.45
11Haris Rauf179.11
9Rashid Khan166.08
10Shaheen Afridi148.61

Also Read:

Leave a comment