Avoid the De Ja Vu | Request for the ICC and MCC

Two teams scoring exactly the same scores by the end of the match and two innings, but one was victorious. How? Boundary count – like the game needed any more batting-friendly rules by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

This was the story that caused heartbreak for many in the biggest international cricket event on the planet – the Cricket World Cup 2019. Not only because the good guys (personal opinion) lost, but how they lost. 

If you’re an England fan or team member, you’ll rightly say, “it was out of their hands”. And despite feeling bad for the Kiwis, you can’t undermine England’s performance.

But what you can do is question the system and lawmakers. There was a million to one chance of the scenario that happened in the ICC WC19 final. But guess what? It happened.

Are you thinking, “The rules were explained to every day before the World Cup started.”? Fair enough? Yes, they were. But here’s the counter-question, “If the lawmakers thought that the Boundary Count law was the right– why change it shortly after the WC19?

Whatever happened, the joy for some, the heartbreak for others, is in the past. But that wouldn’t be the last. Why should one say that? Because there’s another law that needs to be addressed.

Imagine a Scenario

Picture it now, it’s the World cup final between Pakistan and India:

  • Scenario 1 Pakistan needs two runs to win off the last ball. Bumrah balls to Hassan Ali. The ball touches his pad, and Hassan sneaks a leg-bye. Umpire gives him out, but he reviews, and the decision is overturned.
  • Scenario 2 Pakistan needing four runs to win off the last ball. Bumrah balls to Hassan Ali. The ball touches his pad and trickles to the boundary. Umpire gives him out, but he reviews, and the decision is overturned.

You’d be thinking that Pakistan is the world cup holder, right?

Well, the fact is that in both scenarios (in the words of Ravi Shastri), India Win the World Cup.

Scratching your head in confusion that “How can that happen?”

According to the rules:

 If a batter is given OUT, the ball is dead.

If you’re wondering what’s the Dead-ball state – whatever action happens after that won’t count. So, the ball going to the boundary and batter running the leg-bye won’t add to the score. It’ll be a Dot Ball and India winning by 1 and 3 runs, respectively.

Crazy, right?

Do you think this can never happen? Well, you would’ve been thinking the same before the ICC WC19 finals. And we all saw what had happened.

Request for the ICC and MCC

A humble request for the International Cricket Council can be: Make the alternations to these rules before there’s unwanted and avoidable heartbreak for another team.

Written by Saad Shoaib

1 Comment

  • Rod Dallison
    Posted February 14, 2022 6:33 am 0Likes

    Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the issues. It was truly informative. Your site is useful. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a comment