Women’s T20 Asia Cup 2022: Dates, Teams, and Venues

On Tuesday, the Asia Cricket Council (ACC) announced the dates, timings, and venues for the Women’s T20 Asia Cup 2022. The tournament is scheduled to be hosted by Bangladesh and will run from the 1st to the 15th of October. Even though this Asia Cup will be its eighth edition, it will be the fourth being played in the T20I format.

Women’s T20 Asia Cup 2022 will be Bangladesh’s first time holding an international women’s event ever since its series against Pakistan in 2018. Here’s everything you need to know about the mega event. 

Related to women’s cricket: U19 Women T20 World Cup

The Teams

This marquee event will comprise seven teams namely Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Thailand, and UAE. The team of the Arab Emirates will play its debut tournament. They secured a spot in the Cup by defeating Malaysia in the final of the 10-team ACC Women’s T20 Championship.

Bangladesh will not only play hosts, but its national team will also be the defending champions. They beat six-time winners India in the 2018 version in a last-ball thriller in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. 

Women’s T20 Asia Cup Complete Schedule

The entire event will take place in Sylhet international stadium and Sylhet Outer Cricket Stadium. These grounds will be hosting a women’s international event for the first time since T20I World Cup 2014. The tournament will take place in the round-robin form and each team will play six matches. This makes it the longest women’s Asia Cup among all the editions. 

On October 1st, the hosts will take on Thailand whereas India will clash with Sri Lanka later the same day. Team Pakistan will open its campaign against Malaysia on 2nd October. The most awaited clash of arch-rivals Pakistan and India will be staged on 7th October. 

Interesting to read: How Sri Lanka became the Cornered Lions

The top four teams will qualify for the semi-finals. As opposed to just the top two teams qualifying for the finals in the previous editions. The two semi-finals will be played on the same day i-e the 13th of October with the final being on the 15th. Following is the complete list of matches

Date MatchVenue
1st OctoberBangladesh v ThailandSICS Ground 2
India v Sri Lanka
2nd OctoberPakistan v MalaysiaSICS Ground 2
Sri Lanka v UAE
3rd OctoberPakistan v BangladeshSICS Ground 2
India v Malaysia
4th OctoberSri Lanka v ThailandSICS Ground 2
India v UAE
5th OctoberUAE v MalaysiaSICS Ground 2
6th OctoberPakistan v ThailandSICS Ground 1
Bangladesh v Malaysia
7th OctoberThailand v UAESICS Ground 1
India v Pakistan
8th OctoberSri Lanka v MalaysiaSICS Ground 1
India v Bangladesh
9th OctoberThailand v MalaysiaSICS Ground 1
Pakistan v UAE
10th OctoberSri Lanka BangladeshSICS Ground 1
India v Thailand
11th OctoberBangladesh v UAESICS Ground 1
Pakistan v Sri Lanka
13th OctoberSemi-Final 1: Team 1 v Team 4SICS Ground 1
Semi-Final 2: Team 2 v Team 3
15th OctoberFINALSICS Ground 1

Also, Read

Leave a comment