T20 World Cup: Full Schedule, Dates, and Timings

The ICC has announced the dates and fixtures of the upcoming 2021 T20 World Cup. The 16 teams will play the tournament in UAE and Oman from October 17 to November 14, 2021.

The tournament will kick-off in Oman from group B’s fixture between Oman and Papua New Guinea. Co-hosts Oman are slotted in group B and the whole group will play in Al Amarat, Oman. The Group A of the Qualifying Round will play the first four matches in Abu Dhabi before the final two games will be played in Sharjah. 

Afterward, Oman will no longer host the rest of the tournament’s matches. The Super 12s will be played in all three cities of the UAE. The knockout stages will be host by only two cities, however. Abu Dhabi will host the first Semi-Final while Dubai will host both the second Semi-Final and the Final.

T20 World Cup: Groupings 

On July 16, the ICC announced the groupings of the tournament. The tournament has been divided into two rounds. The first round is the “Qualifying Round” where eight teams in two groups have been placed. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the next round, which is the “Super 12s.” 

In the Qualifying Round, groups have been named “A” and “B.” Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands, and Namibia are placed in Group A while Bangladesh, Scotland, PNG, and Oman are placed in Group B. 

In Super 12s, groups are simply labeled as “1” and “2.” In Group 1, defending champions West Indies are placed with Australia, England, and South Africa. These four teams will also be joined by the topper of Group A and runner of Group B. 

For Group 2, original hosts India are joined by Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan. Like Group 1, they will be joined by the topper of Group B and runner of Group A.

Qualifying Round

Group AGroup B
Sri LankaBangladesh
NetherlandsPapua New Guinea

Super 12

Group 1Group 2
South Africa New Zealand 
West Indies Afghanistan 
Winner Group AWinner Group B
Runner-up Group BRunner-up Group A

T20 World Cup: Pakistan’s Schedule 

Pakistan are placed in “Group 2” along with their arch-rivals India, Afghanistan, New Zealand and the two qualifiers. They will start off their schedule against India on October 24 in Dubai, followed by New Zealand and then Afghanistan. All in a space of six days. Pakistan will rest for three days before they take on the Runner-up of Group A. Then five days later, Pakistan will end their group campaign against the Winner of Group B. 

T20 World Cup Full Schedule

Qualifying Round 
Date Group MatchTimings (PKT)Venue
Oct 17
Oman vs PNG3:00 pm
Bangladesh vs Scotland 7:00 pm (D/N)
Oct 18
Ireland vs Netherlands3:00 pm
Abu Dhabi
Sri Lanka vs Namibia7:00 pm (D/N)
Oct 19
Scotland vs PNG3:00 pm
Oman vs Bangladesh7:00 pm (D/N)
Oct 20
Namibia vs Netherlands3:00 pm
Abu Dhabi
Sri Lanka vs Ireland 7:00 pm (D/N)
Oct 21
Bangladesh vs PNG3:00 pm
Oman Scotland7:00 pm (D/N)
Oct 22
Namibia vs Ireland 3:00 pm
Sri Lanka vs Netherlands7:00 pm (D/N)
Super 12s
Date Group MatchTimings (PKT)Ground 
Oct 23

Australia vs South Africa 3:00 pmAbu Dhabi
England vs West Indies 7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Oct 24A1 vs B2 3:00 pmSharjah

India vs Pakistan 7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Oct 25Afghanistan vs B17:00 pm (D/N)Sharjah
Oct 26ASouth Africa vs West Indies 3:00 pmDubai 
BPakistan vs New Zealand 7:00 pm (D/N)Sharjah
Oct 27AEngland vs B23:00 pm
Abu Dhabi
BB1 vs A27:00 pm (D/N)
Oct 28
Australia vs A1 7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Oct 29West Indies vs B2 3:00 pmSharjah
BAfghanistan vs Pakistan 7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Oct 30
South Africa vs A1 3:00 pmSharjah
England vs Australia 7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Oct 31
Afghanistan vs A23:00 pmAbu Dhabi
India vs New Zealand 7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Nov 1
England vs A17:00 pm (D/N)Sharjah
Nov 2South Africa vs B2 3:00 pm
Abu Dhabi

Pakistan vs A2 7:00 pm (D/N)
Nov 3New Zealand vs B13:00 pmDubai 
India vs Afghanistan 7:00 pm (D/N)Abu Dhabi
Nov 4
Australia vs B23:00 pmDubai 
West Indies vs A17:00 pm (D/N)Abu Dhabi
Nov 5
New Zealand vs A23:00 pmSharjah
India vs B1 7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Nov 6
Australia vs West Indies3:00 pmAbu Dhabi
England vs South Africa 7:00 pm (D/N)Sharjah
Nov 7

New Zealand vs Afghanistan 3:00 pmAbu Dhabi
Pakistan vs B17:00 pm (D/N)Sharjah
Nov 8India vs A27:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Knock-out stage 
Date Stage MatchTimings (PKT)Ground 
Nov 10Semi-Final 1TBC vs TBC7:00 pm (D/N)Abu Dhabi
Nov 11Semi-Final 2TBC vs TBC7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 
Nov 14The Final TBC vs TBC 7:00 pm (D/N)Dubai 

Also read: A West Indies-Pakistan Classic in Jamaica Won by the Hosts

Leave a comment