Dropped or rested? BCCI names Kohli-less squad for Ind vs WI T20I series

India vs West Indies: India’s 18-player squad for upcoming Ind vs WI T20I series is on-screened, and seeing No Virat Kohli among 18 is not surprising for many. Undoubtedly, the ex-captain rests among the great batters, but his continuous suffering form and 71st international century hunt have raised multiple questions about his inclusion in the team. 

The experts and the fans have every legit reason to debate why Kohli’s player-ship looks in danger after the captain-ship ended with no memorable farewell. The batter bid farewell to shortest-format captaincy, with the T20 World Cup 2021 being his last task of the format. And, was sacked later as the ODI skipper, which forced him to resign as the test skipper with so many controversies rising, thicking BCCI vs Kohli war. The aggression on the field producing no results with the bat from the last many innings is not only hurtful for the fans but also for himself. 

Is Kohli rested for Ind vs WI T20I series?

Concerning India’s squad for the T20I series against the West Indies, the Board of Control of Cricket in India narrates, ‘Kohli has been rested‘. Consequently, the followers have the right to doubt if their favourite star is rested or dropped on purpose. It is also questionable if the 33-year-old is no more on BCCI’s future plans, and there will be an answer to this by witnessing his inclusion in India’s Asia Cup 2022 squad, to be announced in a shorter course.

Moreover, the board has excluded spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and toe-crusher Jasprit Bumrah. While the inclusions of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav have been made concerning fitness. Also, Ravichandran Ashwin has earned his place back in the crew.

It must be noted that Ind vs WI five-match T20I series will kick-start on July 29th. The rest of the games have been scheduled for August 1st, 2nd, 6th, and 7th, respectively. 

Ind vs WI T20I series: Below is the Virat Kohli-less squad for the men in blue:

Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Also, see:

Leave a comment