Pak W vs SL W: PCB names two uncapped players for the Sri Lanka series

Pak W vs SL W: On Wednesday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) unveiled the squads for the upcoming women’s home series versus Sri Lanka, composed of two new faces. The board has named separate 15-player squads for the T20I and the ODI series, which will be in action in Karachi from May 24th.

The two teams will undergo a three-match T20I series to be followed by as many ODIs, to be encountered at Southend Club, DHA. The guests have already arrived at the venue, as the PCB welcomed 15 cricketers and eight officials at a local hotel.

Sri Lanka’s squad composes of Chamari Athapaththu (Captain), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Imesha Dulani, Prasadani Weerakkody, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Sachini Nisansala, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Anushka Sanjeewani.

Pak W vs SL W: Two uncapped players included in the Pakistan squad

As far as Pakistan Women’s squad is concerned, uncapped Wicketkeeping batter Gull Feroza and leg-spinner Tuba Hassan are set to feature in the T20I series. In contrast, Sadaf Shamas has been included in the ODI squad. Apart from them, the selection panel has considered the past performances and performances of the pre-series camp that was staged at Hanif Mohammad HPC, National Stadium, and Southend Club.

Pakistan’s T20I squad for the Sri Lanka series includes the name of:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal and Tuba Hassan.

On the other hand, the ODI squad will feature the following participants:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Gull Feroza, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz.

Opening up on the selection of the newcomers, Women Team’s chief selector Asmavia Iqbal narrated that Gull Feroza, Sadaf Shamas and Tuba Hassan have been assessed for their appealing performances, meeting the selection criteria. Her statements read as:

“I want to wish the two squads the very best for the series; we have provided opportunities to Gull Feroza, Sadaf Shamas and Tuba Hassan on the basis of their future potential and skills. The three youngsters took part in the emerging camp last December and made an impression with their talent. I am pleased to see their progress, and we all feel it is now the right time to give them exposure to international cricket.

“We had sent Tuba as a reserve player in the recently concluded ODI World Cup along with Ghulam Fatima. She continues to make good progress, and since spin bowling has been a traditional strength of ours, I feel she can make a good contribution to our bowling strategy. Gul Feroza has also made good progress; she has an aggressive style of play and can provide us brisk starts in both T20Is and ODIs, which are now a big requirement on the international stage. Sadaf, besides her batting skills, gives us a bowling option, too, with her medium pace skills.

“For the rest of the squad, we considered the players’ fitness, form and their performances in the preparation camp where we played several practice T20 and 50-over matches. I believe we have two formidable squads for both T20Is and ODIs; both squads have good depth and most certainly have the pedigree to beat the Sri Lankan team in what should be an exciting series.”

The schedule of Pak W vs SL W is as follows:

  • May 24th – First T20I
  • May 26th – Second T20I
  • May 28th – Third T20I
  • June 1st – First ODI
  • June 3rd – Second ODI
  • June 5th – Third ODI

Also, see:

Leave a comment